Rants to get discussion started

October 11, 2006

Firefox Losing Market Share, Don’t Think So

Filed under: Apple,Internet,Microsoft,Technology — aapriori @ 3:34 pm

Here’s an Information Week healine today:

Firefox Losing Market Share, Internet Explorer Gaining, Says Dutch Metrics Firm

The numbers come from OneStat. I am wondering, are they on the MS
bankroll? First, they contradict the findings on Firefox penetration
presented by Net Applications which shows IE is losing ground. So is it
he said she said? Of course, so I have to side with the report matching
my data.

I run a Myspace tutorial site. I figure if there is a mix of users that
represent the typical Internet surfer, it’s a crowd looking at things related
to Myspace. I am receiving 350 – 500 unique visitors per day and am
showing my viewers using Firefox consistently at 21% – 23% (Safari is
at 3%, also more in line with Net Applications). I have other sites showing
similar results but the traffic is too little to draw additional support from.

Finally, the article also says:

Mozilla Corp.’s Firefox has the largest share of browser users in Germany
(33.4 percent), Australia (25.6 percent), and Italy (21.6 percent), said OneStat.
In the U.S. only, IE accounts for 80.8 percent, Firefox 14.9 percent, and
Safari 3.4 percent.

So I applaud the rest of the world for recognizing the value of quality and for
breaking the bonds of Microsoft propaganda. Here in the U.S. I hope we follow
suit soon. And don’t forget, it doesn’t matter that IE7 will be released before Firefox 2.

Do us all a favor and get Firefox now.
Get Firefox!

Cheers,


Tags:







Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.